The Struggle is Real

I am a creative individual.

At least, I think of myself that way. I don’t make works of art, per se. I preform and I write. But, guys, it is so hard to find a balance between all the things I have to do!

I work full time, 40 hours a week. I love my job, it is basically training people how to use my company’s software. I meet interesting people, I work with other nerds like myself, and they are flexible around my schedule. It really is perfect.

I go to school part time. This semester I am taking 9 credits and next semester will be 7. Not cause I’m lazy but because I want to work full time while I am in school. Cause I’m an adult and I have bills to pay and habits to finance. But outside of school time, Mondays and Wednesdays from 2:30 to 6:45, I have to find time to do homework too.

I perform. I LOVE musicals. I love being on stage and singing songs and making people smile or think in ways they hadn’t before. I just made it into A Year With Frog and Toad, a musical I did at the same theater 8 years ago and I am SO excited to make people laugh and love this show. But rehearsals are usually Monday- Friday from 7-10 and Saturday afternoons.

I write. My goal is to finish the book I’m working on by the end of the year so I can edit it for the conference I am planning on attending in May. The means that I write on the computer, I write on my phone, I write on paper I happen to have with me. The sad thing is that when inspiration strikes I might be too busy to listen to it.

So, my life is busy. I’m basically up and running from 5:00 am to 10:00 pm. It is hard to find time for all the things I want to do. But I love my life, even when I’m tired. I know there are busier people. I know there are people who work two full time jobs to support families. I know that I should be grateful I have a job and I go to school and I can do pretty much what I want.

But sometimes you just have to lay your life out to see what you’ve got. And what I’ve got, I love.

Leave a Reply

