The Joy of Living

Believe it or not, it has taken a long while for me to get to where I am today.

To some people it may not seem like I’ve gone very far.

I have been going to college off and on for ten years and I don’t graduate till 2018.

I am still out of shape and obese.

I have never had a boyfriend and am no where close to being a mother.

I live with my parents.

I work a phone job.

I am not a professional actress, singer, or writer.

But guess what? It is the journey and not the end that is the “fun”. I look on the positive side of things now a days and it makes me happy.

I am going to graduate with a degree in something I love and am working on a trilogy. I may not be working on it every day because I am busy, but I have a plan for each book, which is further than I’ve ever gotten.

I am always looking for ways to change my weight, but a lot of people struggle with that so I am not alone.

I’ve never really wanted to be a wife and mother so why would I need a boyfriend?

I have a plan to buy a house in the next few years and while I live with my parents I get to see a sibling or one of my nieces and nephews each day.

I may work a customer service phone job, but I actually do like what I do and I don’t plan on leaving anytime soon.

I rarely thought of being a professional actress/singer. I get into maybe one Hale show a year and I have fun doing what I love. It doesn’t matter that I don’t get paid each time I perform.

It may surprise you to know that there were some people in my life who didn’t like the fact that I was accomplishing so much. They were jealous and mean about it. I know it was them lashing out because they were unhappy with their own lives and I have forgiven them for that, but have ended those friendships. I don’t need that negativity in my life.

I have not had a suicide attempt since Fall of 2015. I am the happiest I have ever been. I’m not going to say that I have beaten depression. It is something that cannot be cured. But it is easier for me to live with and I rarely have sad days anymore, certainly none where I am in the depths of despair.

This world is magical. Life is wonderful. And I am happy with the progress I’ve made.

And YOU should be happy with your lives as well. Any progress is good progress. No matter if it is baby steps or if you slide back down the hill sometimes, you are moving upwards. You are working towards happiness and a better life. KEEP working. KEEP moving. And be happy for others who are on the same path but a different journey.

Leave a Reply

